Blogs
Weblogs News

Membership
Register
(It's free!)
Watched Topics
Edit Your Profile

Differences between LULU.COM and Create Space

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home -> Forums -> Getting published -> Differences between LULU.COM and Create Space
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Wordworx
Site Admin

votes: 83
Currently Reading: True Ghost Stories of Ireland

PostPosted: Monday, 28 June 2010, 8:42 AM    Post subject: Differences between LULU.COM and Create Space Reply with quote

This excellent dissertation (in which he brings out some very useful information) is by Moderator Wig, folks!

L. E. Nelson Jr.

votes: 10
Posted: Saturday, 05 June 2010 Post subject:
OK, Peggy,

You asked for it and here it is: I have a lot of experience with both LULU and Create Space. Both are valuable, but for different reasons. I published four novels and one non-fiction "how to" book on LULU and found their product nearly flawless. Another good feature with LULU is that they will convert your word file to PDF for free. Keep in mind that what you think you are uploading may not be correct. I would advise you to always click on "print preview" to see if your chapter titles appear where you want them to be. The problem with that lies with the page breaks as you are creating a file. I always go to the end of a chapter and curser down to the bottom of the page and hit Ctrl Enter. This will advance your next chapter and then you will have to hit Bk Sp to bring it back where it should be. Then the PDF will transfer accurately. I have spent hours discovering this flaw in the program and I hope it helps.

Now to Create Space: I have finished another novel (my fifth) that I am most proud of. I published it at LULU, but I limited the availability to only myself, which is an option there. This lets me look at the PDF and make any changes that I need before I actually order a proof.